The day of the cleanse

In my resolutions post, I decided that I would do a cleanse once a week. Whenever I mention this to people, their eyes get wide and there is a general feeling of “oh my goodness, she’s really lost her marbles this time.”

So I wanted to clarify. A once a week cleanse does not mean that I will not be eating once a week. Quite on the contrary. I will be taking in my “required” amount of calories (so that when I run, bike, and swim, my body doesn’t completely revolt and refuse to perform)…but instead of eating a lot of grains and meats and dairy, I will be focusing primarily on green smoothies, veggies, and fruits.

The idea of a once a week cleanse came to me from this article on Crazy Sexy Life. I thought about doing the other varieties of cleanses (3 days every other week, 7 days once a month) but with my lifestyle that did not seem feasible. And, because I do not want to set myself up to fail, I wanted to start small. In the future I may decide that I really love my green smoothies and veggies all day (and I don’t really doubt that that will happen).

But *why* do I find it important to do a once a week cleanse? Because I have a history of treating my body poorly and I’d like to attempt to reverse some of those effects while I’m still young and have more of a chance of being successful. And because I’d like to learn to be more mindful. And, let’s face it, because I’m a student who in general does not get enough green in her life.

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I’m generally not a tree-hugging hippie but when it comes to emotions and food, well, I kinda am. I just don’t really broadcast that to the entire world because in my line of work, that may freak my patients out (which is a sad statement about the culture in our society but that’s a whoooooooooole ‘nother post!).

But I digress.

I will be following (mostly) Kris Carr’s ACT guidelines tracking my efforts using the ACT food and lifestyle journal (although I will be modifying some of the questions to fit me more appropriately). And, like I said, right now this is a once a week affair. Although I may really love my first day and want to continue it. Or at least carry over some of the principles into my day to day life.

One thought on “The day of the cleanse

  1. Pingback: | Positivity, serendipity, and running shoes

Leave a Reply

