The morning run is the new caffeine

My alarm clock went off at 8 am this morning. I was not thrilled. I haven’t been sleeping very well lately but last night, in that loopy moment right before I fell asleep, I decided that I wanted to run in the morning today.

Before this semester, I was an afternoon runner. But it seems that I have transitioned into a mid-morning runner. And today I was a “jump out of bed and head to the gym” runner.

I’m not going to lie, it took a lot of willpower to drag myself out of my cozy bed and into the rainy weather. I hit snooze twice, trying to figure out a way that I could run in the afternoon without rushing around. Lunch time? Nope, too much reading to do. After lab? Nope, I definitely won’t feel like running at 5 pm. So it was decided…I had to run at 8:30 am or not at all.

The pluses: My run is done for the day! I didn’t have to drink caffeine to wake up! I can vegetate when I get out of lab this afternoon! The gym was barely crowded and I got my favorite (yes I have a favorite) treadmill!

The minuses: I had to get out of bed a little earlier. I was rushing around so I could shower and get to class on time. I really missed my relaxing morning of tea and breakfast. I totally zoned out and cannot remember any of my splits.

The verdict: The only time I’ll be doing these “jump out of bed and go” morning runs is when I know I’ll be strapped for time in the afternoon and/or won’t feel like running when I’m done with classes…so basically only on Wednesdays. I detest rushing in the morning, but it’s so nice to know that I can relax for the rest of the day.

The distance: 4 miles

One thought on “The morning run is the new caffeine

Leave a Reply

