Running when tired

I. Am. Exhausted.

I was literally ready to just crawl under my comforter and stay there all night at about 3:00 pm. The idea of going to the gym did not sound one bit appealing. Fighting people for the treadmill? Ugh. Running on my tired body? Meh. Listening to my mp3 player? Gah.

Clearly I was one perky bunny this afternoon. It practically took using the mental jaws of life to get myself up off of the couch and into my running clothes.

But I did it. And I am glad that I managed to get to the gym for a run. Because as exhausted as I feel now, at least I don’t feel quite as sloth-like anymore. I didn’t get a chance to run at all over the weekend and my body was clearly screaming, “Gimme some endorphins, lady!”.

Today made me into one of those annoying “even if you’re tired, a run will help you feel better” people. At the very least, it’s turned me into one of those “dang, this beer tastes extra good post-run” people. Although I will still be oh so thankful to get under those covers tonight.

{Today’s run}

0.5 miles @ 9:31 pace

0.5 miles @ 9:13 pace

1 mile @ 8:47 – 9:00 pace

0.5 mile @ 8:34 pace

0.5 mile @ 8:27 – 8:00 pace (I increased the speed by 0.1 every 0.1 mile)

I repeated the above combo (o.5 mile @ 8:34 pace and 0.5 mile @ 8:27-8:34 pace until I reached 6 miles)

0.2 mile cool down @ 9:31

Total: 6.2 miles

Do you ever force yourself to do something even though you’d much rather vegetate and then immediately feel better afterwards?

One thought on “Running when tired

  1. I feel like this about my work outs a lot, especially in the winter. It’s really difficult to force myself to walk out of our nice warm apartment to walk to the fitness center. I managed to make it out there tonight though!

    Jessica

Leave a Reply

