This afternoon…

…my pre-lab class was cancelled.

And I decided that today needed to be a rest day because my poor leg muscles are all swollen.

So I sat on my couch, ruminating over what to eat for lunch. Nothing sounded good.

I finally decided to get my cook on. And I made some lentil sloppy joes. They taste like amazingness. And were a lot easier than I ever could have imagine. The plus side? I have lunch/dinner for the next few days. And I think it would taste amazing on pasta. Or on a sandwich.

{Lentil sloppy joes}

1 cup dry lentils

4 cups water

1 medium onion, diced (I omitted this because this was a spur of the moment adventure and didn’t have one in my fridge)

1 bell pepper, diced (I used a red one)

Olive oil

Garlic powder

2 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp oregano

Salt

Pepper

8 oz. can of tomato sauce

1/4 cup ketchup

3 tbsp maple syrup

1 1/2 tbsp yellow mustard

  1. Put lentils and water into a pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower the temperature and allow lentils to simmer for about 20 minutes (until they are soft). Drain
  2. Saute onion and pepper in olive oil/salt/pepper (salt and pepper to taste) until soft. Add garlic powder to taste and stir (I like my food super garlicky so I added quite a bit)
  3. Add sauteed ingredients, chili powder, oregano, tomato sauce, and ketchup to the drained lentils. Simmer for 10 minutes, then add maple syrup & mustard and heat through.
  4. Allow to sit for 10 minutes and then serve however you please!
Leave a Reply

