Thrill ride

To say that today was busy would be an understatement.

I didn’t eat breakfast until 1:26 pm.

I did, however, get quite a bit accomplished and managed to impress my clinic observation supervisor with my super awesome knowledge skillz about what was wrong with a patient. There’s nothing like confidently answering a question correctly.

Being in the clinic is a bit like a thrill ride for me. I am always hyped up on adrenaline and nerves as I totter over in my heels (unfortunately, I cannot wear scrubs yet and need to be in “professional attire”), then there’s a lull as the patient explains what is wrong, and then there’s almost sheer brain panic when I look at the doctor and realize that yes, I am indeed supposed to have enough knowledge to form some semblance of a hypothesis. Gulp.

But, as usual, I rock it. Every hour I spend in the clinic assures me that I have picked the right profession to pursue. A profession that keeps me busy and gives me tired calves, but the right one nonetheless.

I even managed to get in a 3.5 mile tempo run during my lunch break. It took quite a bit of convincing to not allow myself to plop barefooted onto the couch and just vegetate for an hour and a half but I ended up being very glad that I could at least squeeze in a quick run.

But now my day is over and I have no plans for the evening but to recline, hydrate, and relax. The couch is calling me.

Leave a Reply

