Saturday morning eats

It seems as if my morning hunger peaks on Saturdays. Typically I wake up hungry every morning and truly relish in that first bowl of cereal. But come Saturday morning, it’s like a demon baby takes over my stomach and demands food at 2:30 in the morning. And then again at 8:00 in the morning. And definitely at 9:00 in the morning when I finally succumb to the hunger and crawl out of bed.

I started my day with a big bowl of sweetened wheat-fuls, a boiled egg, and blueberries. And I was still starving.

I was also itching to try some Truvia in my coffee. I picked it up at the grocery store last night in an effort to curb my Splenda + coffee consumption that has sky rocketed this week. I blame that on the fact that I have been exhausted all week and when I’m tired, all that my body wants to ingest is carbohydrates and sugar (real or fake). So, while no sugar would be preferable to using Truvia, I think that Truvia is at least a little bit better of an option when it comes to sweetening my coffee and it tasted spectacular in my cinnamon vanilla nut coffee…like a dessert, only coffee-er.

What do you sweeten your coffee with? I used to just be a milk in my coffee kind of gal until recently.

I am truly thankful that today is Saturday, although I did not get nearly enough accomplished yesterday afternoon. I managed to finish my paper proposal during lunch but after my meeting, I went for a run and then basically collapsed onto the couch and watched New Adventures of Old Christine and How I Met Your Mother while eating pizza. While that felt amazing, it was utterly unproductive and I need to get in at least 2 hours of studying (and a 4 mile run in) this morning because the boy is taking me to an awesome restaurant downtown tonight.

How are you spending your Saturday morning? Do you have any evening plans?

Leave a Reply

