Why I run

As I was heading out the door with my gym bag at 7:45 this morning, my first thought was, “Why do I do this? I’m not training for a race?”

I easily could have stayed in bed for another hour, started my day off relaxing on the couch and eating breakfast, and headed to the clinic without feeling like my legs had sandbags attached to them.

It never ceases to amaze me how easy it is to come up with excuses not to go for a run. But, as that adage goes, the only run you regret is the run you don’t do.

And then I started thinking about all of the reasons why I do run.

I run because there is nothing in the world that can compete with an endorphin rush.

I run because that means I can have a scone for lunch and not feel guilty.

I run because it gives me “me time”

I run because it makes me feel strong, beautiful, and awesome.

I run because running is always there for me on a bad day

I run because there is nothing better than being able to see improvements in my abilities

I run because it teaches me that I am much stronger than I often feel

I run because it teaches me about my body’s nuances

I run because it just comes naturally to me

I run because it is something that no one can ever take away from me

Why do you run/workout?

One thought on “Why I run

Leave a Reply

