Leaving on a jet plane

Yeah, I’m leaving on a jet plane, I don’t know when I’ll be back again…

Well, alright, I do know when I’ll be back.

Next weekend to be precise.

I always look forward to going home, mostly because it’s an excuse to lounge around in my pajamas all day and drink tea and watch mindless television. I always wish the boy were coming with me, but time out of town tends to be spectacular.

Especially since I’ve gotten so good at traveling.

Enter, Maria’s travel tips:

  • Clean your apartment/house/room. It may be the last thing you want to do before a trip but coming home to cleanliness is a wonderful, wonderful thing.
  • Pack more food than you think you need. Airport snacks are ridiculously expensive so it’s better to have more than expected so that way, when you’re starving and ready to eat a limb you can just reach into your back for a snack instead of spending $5 for an apple
  • Pack food you love but won’t get at home. I always bring my own peanut butter. It seems odd but my parents eat peanut butter that I detest and bringing my own is better than having to go out to the store and stock up. (Also, pack food that is just about to expire or would go bad over the trip…I always bring excess bread or fruit because I know it will get eaten by my family or me).
  • Check in and pay for your luggage before you go to airport. It’ll make the lines that much more bearable and save lots of time.
  • Also, don’t lock your suitcase. Security generally searches them so it’ll just make more of a hassle than anything
  • When it comes to carry-ons, a backpack is truly the best. You can have all of your personal items close to you (wallet, etc) and it fits under the seat. Wrestling with roller bags and overhead compartments sucks and is annoying to other people flying.
  • Also related to carry-ons, carry as few bags as possible. Keeping track of and carrying a million tiny bags is just awful and some airlines won’t let you bring them onto the plane until they are all in your larger carry-on back.
  • Most importantly, relax. Things can (and probably will) get hectic but freaking out over travel dilemmas truly make them worse than they already are. You can’t control an airplane or whether your flight is on time, so just sit back and relax and be super happy/polite because you’ll totally get better service!

What are your travel tips? Do you like flying?

Leave a Reply

