I ran a marathon, take 2

After hiking yesterday morning in the windy and chilly weather of New England, it was hard to make the decision to go for a run. (Side note: it was also difficult to decide to go for a hike. I love spending my morning in my robe with tea and news but I love the outdoors and, in the end, being in the fresh and cool air was invigorating)

But I did.

And afterwards, sitting in the reclining with my pleasantly tired legs and huge mug of tea, I was glad that I did.

Why?

Because I ran 26.4 miles last week.

Sometimes the hardest part of running is just stepping out the door. The best part about running, however, is being done and getting all cozied up in your pajamas.

I am, however, quite used to being sheltered from the elements in the comfort of a gym and warmer, southern temperatures so this morning I signed up for a free 7-day pass at a local gym. Because it was flurrying out. You can take the girl out of the New England but you can’t take the New England out of the girl…except when it comes to running in cold weather when I’m used to 70 degree weather. That’s when nature and thinner blood takes over.

Do you run outside when you travel or do you find a gym/exercise in the hotel gym?

Leave a Reply

