Friday Love List: Growing up edition

Yesterday afternoon I was sitting in Panera, dreading my drive, failing at concentrating on my paper, and wishing I could spend the weekend on the couch in my apartment instead of having to apartment search. I have been filled with anxiety. So I took up eavesdropping.

Enter the best thing I could have possibly heard at that moment. A businessman, trying to ask a girl why she was hesitating over taking a job, said, “Are you really not wanting to take this job because of your insecurities? You need to be a big girl and make this decision for yourself. But consider this, do you want your future children to have these same insecurities? The only way you can ensure they don’t is by getting over them yourself.”

Okay, so he could have been a little more sensitive, but he spoke the truth. Did I really want to give up an amazing opportunity just because I was scared to move to a new city?

No.

Was I terrified to mail in the official letter accepting acceptance?

Yes.

Am I terrified to move on to a new stage in my life?

Oh yes. But it will be worth it.

It’s Friday, and I’m in love with:

The boy, who puts up with my nervous breakdowns and loves me no matter what

My car, which is hold but has carried me many miles over these past few weekends

Unlimited Panera iced tea. Having a straw to chew on is apparently a stress reliever

The Internet. Without access I don’t know how I’d even begin to search for apartments in a city 3 hours away.

My body. Alright, so I’m currently sick, but that’s just my body’s way of saying, “slow down and take care of yourself”.

Leave a Reply

