Running towards awesome

So, uh, first of all. Apparently I suck at blog updates. I have so many started posts but so few finished posts. This is probably indicative of the fact that I am always so enthusiastic to start something but so unmotivated to finish most of the time…but I’m just going to say it’s because I have been extraordinarily busy exploring my new city/watching Millionaire Matchmaker marathons on Bravo (so addicting, by the way).

But while my blogging has sucked, my running has not. I’ve worked myself up to 50 minute trail runs and I could not be happier about it. My last attempt at trail running went horribly awry, probably due to the fact that I was with my horrid ex-boyfriend and he always made me run through the spider webs of the early morning. Ew.

But the trail system that I’ve found is only 25 minutes away from my apartment and has a combination of pavement, gravel, and dirt trails. And a lack of awful spider webs. My legs have never been happier. I am now a true believer in running on many different surfaces; my knees have virtually zero pain (which is a HUGE plus considering how cranky they can get when I up my mileage) and my legs are hardly ever sore. Winning!

So what have I been up to in the time since my last post?

I ordered a handheld water bottle. Perfect for this hot southern morning and for a place to stash my keys so I don’t sweat all over my key-less entry buttons and accidentally zap myself while trying to unlock my car.

I’ve been reading ultra-runners’ blogs. Especially Ultra Addington and Ultragirl Emily. I think all of this trail running and a desire for higher mileage has piqued my interest in ultra running. But I guess I should finish my first marathon first…

I’ve gotten my emotional binge eating under control. I think this mostly has to do with running. When I finish an excellent run, I want to feed myself with the best food possible so that I can continue performing the best that I possibly can.

I’ve ridden my road bike once. I used to be the queen of summer long rides but I have yet to map out any good rides in my new neighborhood. Lazy, lazy me. I need to start riding at least once a week again, before it gets too cool and I don’t have time to ride anymore!

I’ve discovered that dessert once a day is a-okay. For my sanity at least. Maybe not for my blood sugar.

What have you been up to? What are your thoughts on ultra running?

One thought on “Running towards awesome

  1. Ultra running sounded AMAZING back when I had high hopes for my physical prowess. Now I realize that 5+ miles in the summer is hard for me to pump out. 🙂 Trail running is so therapeutic. That reminds me that I need to get out to mine again soon. This weekend…..for sure.

Leave a Reply

