Some quick thoughts.

Spring Break only just ended but drama and stress continues. It’s official…1 week off is just not enough. But it’s 80 degrees, beautiful, and I’ve made a decision regarding school, so life is improving. As far as I’m concerned, the second you start finding a way to improve your life is the second you start becoming a better person.

I’ve got a long road ahead of me, but I’m looking forward to it.

I’m taking my first “real” spinning class Saturday morning. As a former (and hopefully future) triathlete, I’ve taken many spin classes in my life. But I registered online and paid $18 for a spinning class at a studio dedicated to cycling. It’s an hour of spinning followed by abs and arms. Needless to say, my body is terrified for what it is about to go through.

My running has been slacking. Before break, I was consistently upping my mileage and now I’ve hit a tiny setback. Part of that I’m sure is due to dehydration, part is due to the fact that the temperature sky-rocketed, and part is due to the fact that I’ve been cutting majorly back on caffeine. That’s a shock to the system if there is any.

However, I’m in the market for some new running shoes. I’ve been running in the Saucony Progrid Triumph  for years now and just ordered that exact pair (yay for pink running shoes!). However, it appears that after the 8 model (the model that I am currently running in and the model that I just ordered), there was some sort of redesign so I am slightly skeptical. Thankfully I don’t go through running shoes super quickly, but I’m terrified of the day where I need to *gasp* branch out and try a different model. Saucony love is for life, though.

Breakfast in bed is always better when you have nowhere to be. Somehow I ended up with today off, so I slept in until 9 am and then moseyed on down to the kitchen, where I mixed up a homemade latte (stove-top espresso FTW) and some Greek yogurt with granola. Then I retreated back to my bed to stare out the window, catch up on some TV and Internet reading, and vegetate until it’s time to run/figure out how to make myself a semi-productive adult.

I want to run an ultra. Okay, I’ve never even done a full marathon yet so that’s obviously the next step. But I’m so drawn to the ultra-running lifestyle. Despite the fact that I ran cross-country from the 6th grade through undergrad, I’ve never been a competitive runner. I’m more interested in making friends, having a good time, and enjoying the scenery. Yeah, I’m not sure how I ever succeeded in a competitive environment (this is probably why, before my last collegiate race, I basically threw up from the anxiety…as Bill Engvall would say, “Here’s your sign”). It seems like ultra runners (at least the ones I’ve met) are more interested in the experience than a PR and I love that.

I’ve decided to go back to school #2. I announced this in my last post, and it’s *still* not official, but it feels good to keep saying it. I feel like I’m making a positive change in my life even though it was a long and laborious decision process. Now getting through all of the red tape to go *back* there is likely to be a nightmare but I’m at peace with my decision. I’m ready to be back in a lovely city full of things that I know and love. In the end, I will still have Dr. in front of my name, so I might as well make the process a little more bearable.

Leave a Reply

