What’s in my bad BHAG, day 1

In Lululemon speak, BHAG = Big Hairy Audacious Goal.

In the above post, the lovely Lulu blogger posed 7 questions to the reader. In an attempt to straighten my poor stressed head out, I will be tackling each question one by one.

Today’s question: What are the eight things you value most in life?

To be completely candid, values are not something that I think about on a consistent basis. Obviously, they underlie my every single action and every decision I make but I never sit down and say to myself, “what do I truly believe is necessary for a fulfilling life.”

I guess there’s a first time for everything.

1. Independence

2. Love & fulfilling relationships

3. Health & fitness

4. True contentment

5. Knowledge & book smarts

6. New experiences

7. Job satisfaction

8. The ability to express myself and be true to myself.

It’s quite telling that job satisfaction doesn’t make an appearance until #7. I’m not saying that I don’t want a fulfilling job, but by going into my profession, I think it would be hard to go about it in a way that doesn’t help others and make me feel that I’m not making a difference. But I have always promised myself that I would never sacrifice other parts of my life in order to build up a prestigious career and I always promised myself that I would not compromise my true beliefs for a job.

Decision making, FTW.

Leave a Reply

