Snubbed {and science + nutrition}

My last few posts have been somewhat dreary, I admit. They’re all about me feeling completely unmotivated, me having wonderful interpersonal issues in the lab, me feeling just generally discontent.

That is, overall, how this week has gone for me.

The only way to describe it would be: Meh.

Trying to find the energy to care is exhausting, caring too much and then crying about caring too much is exhausting. And today was just the cherry on top of an exhausting week.

Without going into too much detail, I got snubbed. Whether this was done by the girl I vented about yesterday purposefully or was just sheer oversight, I cannot say. But it happened, my months of contribution was left out, and I found myself fighting back tears reading the “congratulations to blah blah blah and blah [excluding me]” email in the library.

Yep, that is a spectacular feeling.

I’ve always been quiet, I’ve also been “less noticeable” because I don’t create drama and would rather be noticed through my excellent work and not a loud mouth. So when I don’t get noticed at all, even after I put in just as much work as everyone else, tears and eating giant bags of Doritos happen.

Which brings me to my next subject: Nutrition and Science

{And no, this is not going to be a nutrition lesson…it’s more about the lack thereof}

My lab-mates and I are often study in the lab approximately 10 hours a day. So when it comes time to order food, we are typically tired and stressed and ready to eat our feelings (yes, even the males…and it’s a male dominated lab) it’s like a 13 year old boy is there making the decisions for us.

Tonight, for example, we are having an impromptu evening lab meeting. The dinner choice? Pizza delivery.

Our lab snack of choice is Doritos.

Our lab dessert of choice are cookies.

Needless to say, unless I plan ahead and bring my lunch/dinner, I end up eating quite unhealthily.

But as far as I can tell, this phenomenon is not limited to the lab that I work in…when I occasionally leave the dungeon and converse with other graduate students, they typically have the same story of, “yeah, we subsist on Cheetos and Chinese take-out most days”.

And it seems to me that the cycle of stress + limited time + long hours + the deliciousness of junk perpetuates itself. I find myself unable to chip into the take-out dinner pool…not because my lab mates would think any less of me, but just because I find myself wanting to be part of the group. Sure, we could bond while all eating our own dinners, but bonding is so much stronger when we’re all sitting in a circle on the floor, talking about what we accomplished during the day and munching on the same pizza.

Lame, I know.

Lately I’ve been stirring the idea of weekly potlucks in my brain…but can’t imagine how that would turn out any healthier. So I am humbly bowing down and asking for advice: how do you eat healthier when your whole lifestyle is seemingly built around eating unhealthy? 

Leave a Reply

