Create a vision and set your goals: 6 months

I created my 10 year vision about a year ago. However, in the past few weeks, I have realized that I’ve reverted to full-on meltdown mode. This means terrible nutrition, too much Netflix, no running, lots of kicking myself in the head for past “mistakes”, lots of “what-ifs”. Basically I’ve been frantically treading water instead of gliding forward, which is what I feel I should be doing. I’ve been splitting myself into a million pieces and, therefore, have been completely unable to focus or be passionate about one thing.

Passion. It’s what’s for dinner. Or should be, but apparently it’s what I’m lacking.

So enter the 6 month vision. {It started as 5 years. Then turned into 1 year. Then 6 months. Apparently that’s about as much as I can bite off at the moment, which is okay. Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?}

I am hoping to give myself clarity, or at least the clarity to see that everything is going to be just fine.

In six months…

# My research project will be approved. I will be almost to the midpoint of data collection and cruising along comfortably.

# I will have lost 10 pounds. No, I’m not fat. When I tell people that I’ve gained a large amount of weight since grad school commenced, they gawk at me. But *I* know that most of my pudge has come from mindless eating and would feel more comfortable if it was just…gone. I’d like to be a healthier version of myself.

# I will run a half marathon. Half marathon #5 to be exact. And it will be splendiforous. Running will be a regular part of my hectic routine and even though I’ll probably only have enough time to run 3x week, I’ll make it happen.

# I will have regained my passion for clinic. I’m not sure how. Perhaps through hours of watching Grey’s Anatomy reruns. But I will again love helping patients and be okay with mountains of paperwork and be at peace with the fact that I will never be perfect at it.

# I will have carved out some time every week for girl time.

# I will have made 6 recipes and/or crafts from Pinterest.

# I will have finished 2 novels of my choosing…completely unrelated to school. Preferably more than that but 2 is the bare minimum.

# I will have a weekly date night with G. Being engaged to a fellow grad student means we are both unspeakably busy so making time for each other that doesn’t involve pajamas or delivered pizza is essential.

# Have a lab job. Currently I slave in a lab and I slave at work. Neither are extremely satisfying, which is probably part of the cause for my teenage angst.

# Write {nearly} daily. Whether it be on this blog or a recipient-less email to myself.

# Have a grown up dinner party. Yep, I went there.

# Get halfway through wedding planning.

# Get a new license. You know, before my current one expires and I drive around town like a bandit.

# Create a budget. And stick to it.

# Have game night at Chez G and I. Again, yes, I went there.

Leave a Reply

