Umm…hi

So consistency? Apparently *not* my thing when it comes to blogging. 

Some mornings I’ll wake up, make my tea, and have time to actually sit on the couch before I need to run off to school. And those morning, like this morning, make me want to blog. Especially when it’s grey and “snowing” (I use quotations because in the South it rarely truly snows). I’m usually too busy writing a million emails or browsing Pinterest, but gloomy weather makes me more introspective or something. 

But whatevs. I decided to start blogging again, so here I am. 

My most recent accomplishment has been joining a gym. And going to said gym at least 3 days a week. I used to be little miss runner pants until I started grad school. Then I became little miss “oh no, I can’t fit into my favorite pants” from too many late night study munchies and too much desk sitting. 

So, what with my wedding only about 5 months away, I decided I should probably get healthy and stop showing sloths up with my lazy skills. 

So I’m training for a May half marathon. 

Image

 

Yesterday was day 1. I managed to walk about 3/4 of a mile at a 3% incline and run 3 miles alternating between 6.0 – 7.0 mph and 0-2% incline. All without my lungs popping or my legs falling off. 

Motivation is at an all-time high for me right now. I reduced my work schedule, I’m about to move into a brand-spanking new apartment, wedding planning is basically done-zo. So convincing myself to not nap when I get home in the evening has been fairly easy. It will be interesting to see how long this trend continues…hopefully forever, especially since the weather is finally improving (although you couldn’t tell from the angry white ice snow falling from the sky right now) and the days are getting longer. 

Also: training plans are my favorite so I am planning on creating one and posting it so that way if I start being a slacker I can maybe shame myself back into motivation. 

Leave a Reply

